Friday, June 24, 2016

prayer diary Friday 24 June 2016 (day of discipline & self-denial)

'Store up for yourself treasure in heaven.' 
Matthew 6.19

Reflection: 
When this life ends, the only thing that will matter is if were you a good and faithful servant. Focus on what truly matters.

Thursday, June 23, 2016

prayer diary Thursday 23 June 2016

'Your Father knows what you need before you ask him.' 
Matthew 6.8

Reflection
In which case, you may ask, why pray? Because even though God knows what you need, it is likely you do not. Pray and listen so that you may learn of him.

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

prayer diary Wednesday 22 June 2016

'Beware of practicing your piety before others in order to be seen by them.' 
Mathew 6.1

Reflection
Let your worship flow from love of God; if it does not, you are fooling no one but yourself.

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

prayer diary Tuesday 21 June 2016

'Love your enemies; and pray for those who persecute you.' 
Matthew 5. 44

Reflection
What Christ calls us to is more than mere emotion, but a moral decision resulting in virtuous action - which is the hallmark of his followers.

Monday, June 20, 2016

prayer diary Monday 20 June 2016

'If anyone strikes you on the right cheek, turn the other one also.' 
Matthew 5.39

Reflection 
Violence can not be overcome with more violence; only good can overcome evil.

Saturday, June 18, 2016

Examin Sunday 18 June 2016

Have humility not only in your heart but also by your very appearance make it always manifest to those who see you … head bowed and your eyes toward the ground. Feeling the guilt of your sins at every moment, you should consider yourself already present at the dread Judgement and constantly say in your heart what the publican in the Gospel said with his eyes fixed on the earth: "Lord, I am a sinner and not worthy to lift up my eyes to heaven" (Luke 18:13; Matt. 8:8); 

based on the rule of St Benedict, Ch 7 'On Humility'

prayer diary Saturday 18 June 2016

'Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you shall eat or what you shall drink, nor about your body, what you shall put on.' 
Matthew 6.25

Reflection
Our heavenly Father knows we need the things of this life to live. But better to starve than turn them into idols and thereby lose the eternal life of heaven.